Let’s get started

Diamond 4C’s

The 4 C’s of diamonds are the four characteristics that determine the value and quality of a diamond. These C’s are cut, color, clarity, and carat weight.

Often misunderstood with size. The weight or size of a diamond is measured in carats (ct.). It’s useful to consider other attributes of a diamond also. For example, a diamond with a high carat with a poor cut will appear smaller then a diamond with a smaller carat but higher quality cut.

One carat weighs 1/5 of a gram and is divided into 100 points, this means a diamond weighing 1.28 ct. is referred to as “one carat and twenty eight points.”

For example,

  • 0.75 carat = 75 points
  • 1/2 carat = 50 points
  • 1/4 carat = 25 points

*TIP –  Diamonds of the same weight don’t necessarily have the same size appearance.




Diamond Colour Is An Important Characteristic That Affects A Diamond’s Beauty

Like all of the 4c’s diamond colour is an important consideration when choosing a diamond. While colour affects price, there are a number of factors that can help you decide which colour grade is right for you.

The rarest and most expensive are diamonds in the colourless range graded D,E and F. Diamonds with more colour than Z, or in other shades such as yellow, pink, blue and red are considered fancy coloured diamonds.

To determine the correct colour, diamonds are compared to a master set of stones.

Colourless diamonds

  • D-F Colour Diamonds

Near-colourless diamonds

  • G-H Colour Diamonds
  • I-J Colour Diamonds

Faint colour diamonds

  • K Colour Diamonds and below

Diamond clarity is the assessment of small imperfections on the surface and within the stone. Surface flaws are called blemishes, while internal defects are known as inclusions. There are two types of clarity characteristics: inclusions and blemishes. All diamonds are unique, they have all gone under immense pressure and heat in a natural process which results to natural inslusions and blemishes.

The most brilliant diamonds are to be round in shape as this relates to the symmetry and capability of the diamond to reflectnearly all the light that enters it. None round diamonds are referred to as ‘fancy shapes’.


Table: The largest facet of a gemstone

Crown: The top portion of a diamond extending from the girdle to the table.

Girdle: The intersection of the crown and pavilion which defines the circumference of a diamond.

Diameter: The measurement from one girdle edge of a diamond straight across to the opposing side.

Pavilion: The bottom portion of a diamond, extending from the girdle to the culet.

Culet: The facet at the tip of a gemstone. The preferred culet is not visible with the unaided eye (graded “none” or “small”).

Depth: The height of a gemstone measured from the culet to the table.

REMEMBER* Diamond Cut And Diamond Shape Are Not The Same Thing